Lenovo ThinkSystem SD650-N V2 Datasheet

Updated
6 Apr 2021
Form Number
DS0124
PDF size
3 pages, 411 KB

Exascale-Technologie für jede Größe.

Lenovo Neptune™ beschleunigt

Das Lenovo ThinkSystem SD650-N V2 basiert auf unserer Lenovo Neptune™ Direktwasserkühlungsplattform der vierten Generation, die auf zwei Intel® Xeon® Scalable Prozessoren der 3. Generation mit NVIDIA HGX™ A100 4-GPU-Beschleunigung und NVIDIA HDR InfiniBand-Netzwerk aufsetzt.

Die Kombination der marktführenden NVIDIA-Beschleunigungstechnologie mit der marktführenden Wasserkühlungslösung von Lenovo resultiert in extremer Leistung in einem extrem komkakten Gehäuse. Ein einziges Rack des Lenovo ThinkSystem SD650-N V2 bietet bis zu 2,8 PetaFLOPS High Performance Computing (HPC) bzw. 45 PetaFLOPS Künstliche Intelligenz (KI) Spitzenleistung auf nur 0,72 m² Grundfläche.

Beschleunigung Ihrer Anwendungen

Auf dem SD650-N V2 sind vier NVIDIA A100 Tensor Core GPUs über NVLink miteinander verbunden, was zu erheblichen Leistungssteigerungen bei HPC, KI-Training und Inferenz-Workloads führt. Der A100 unterstützt die HPC-Philosophie von Lenovo, um Kunden From Exascale to Everyscale™ zu ermöglichen. Zusammen mit dem NVIDIA InfiniBand Netzwerk skaliert er effizient auf Tausende von GPUs oder kann mit der NVIDIA Multi-Instance GPU (MIG) Technologie in sieben GPU-Instanzen partitioniert werden, um kleinere Workloads zu beschleunigen.

Ansicht des ThinkSystem SD650-N V2 von oben

Mit NVIDIA® CUDA® steht Ihnen die am weitesten verbreitete parallele Rechenplattform und das Programmiermodell für Grafikprozessoren kostenlos zur Verfügung, um z. B. die mehr als 700 unterstützten HPC-Anwendungen und jedes wichtige Deep Learning Framework zu beschleunigen:

  • Chemie wie Gaussian und GROMACS
  • Finite Elemente wie LS-DYNA und Simulia Abaqus
  • Fluiddynamik wie OpenFOAM und ANSYS Fluent
  • Molekulardynamik wie NAMD und AMBER
  • Wetter und Klima wie WRF und ICON

Das Lenovo ThinkSystem SD650-N V2 unterstützt auch NVIDIA® NGC™ mit vortrainierten Modellen, Trainingsskripten, optimierten Framework-Containern und Inferenz-Engines für gängige Deep Learning-Modelle.

Lenovo Neptune™: Führende Wasserkühlungstechnologie

Ein Jahrzehnt Erfahrung in der direkten Wasserkühlung zeichnet Lenovo aus. Mit einem akribischen Fokus auf niedrige Druckverluste und hochwertigste Materialien erreicht Lenovo die klassenbeste Zuverlässigkeit. Der SD650-N V2 nutzt Kupfer- und Lötverbindungen, die einen tropffreien Betrieb bei extremen Größenordnungen auch bei hohem Druck garantieren.

Ein weiteres wichtiges Unterscheidungsmerkmal ist das überlegene Design des Wasserkreislaufs, das Vorlauftemperaturen von bis zu 50°C für höchste Effizienz bei der Energiewiederverwendung ermöglicht. Das neue Design des Wasserkreislaufs ermöglicht eine Optimierung der Leistung bei erhöhter Frequenz und gewährleistet gleichzeitig eine gleichmäßige Temperaturverteilung, die thermische Abweichungen verhindert und so eine gleichbleibende Anwendungsleistung gewährleistet.

Wasserkühlung ist ein durchgängiger Prozess, der bereits bei der Herstellung beginnt. Durch Helium- und Stickstoffdrucktests vom Knoten bis zum vollständigen Rackaufbau bietet der SD650-N V2 gleichbleibende Qualität auf höchstem Niveau. Dieser Ansatz ermöglicht es Lenovo außerdem, die Systeme unter Druck zu versenden, ohne dass gefährliche Frostschutzkomponenten an unsere Kunden verschickt werden müssen.

Skalierbare Lösungen

Das Lenovo ThinkSystem SD650-N V2 wird als vollständig integrierte Lenovo Scalable Infrastructure (LeSI)-Lösung geliefert. LeSI stellt Best Recipe Anleitungen zur Verfügung, um die Interoperabilität von Hardware, Software und Firmware zwischen einer Vielzahl von Lenovo und Drittanbieterkomponenten zu gewährleisten. Zusätzlich zu den Interoperabilitätstests wird die LeSI-Hardware nach erprobten Verfahren vorintegriert, vorverkabelt und optional einem Betriebssystem-Image vorgeladen und in der Fertigung auf Rack-Ebene getestet, um eine zuverlässige Lieferung zu gewährleisten und die Installationszeit im Rechenzentrum des Kunden zu minimieren.

Mit Lenovo intelligent Computing Orchestration (LiCO) können Sie mehrere Benutzer und Skalierungen innerhalb einer einzigen Cluster-Umgebung unterstützen. LiCO ist eine leistungsstarke Plattform, die Cluster-Ressourcen sowohl für HPC- als auch KI-Anwendungen verwaltet. LiCO bietet Workflows sowohl für KI als auch für HPC und unterstützt mehrere KI-Frameworks, so dass Sie einen einzigen Cluster für unterschiedliche Workload-Anforderungen nutzen können.

Führende Zuverlässigkeit im Rechenzentrum

Bei Lenovo steht der Kunde im Mittelpunkt, weshalb ThinkSystem Server in Sachen Zuverlässigkeit stets auf Platz 1 rangieren. Außerdem ist Lenovo der führende Anbieter von Supercomputern in den TOP500. Das ThinkSystem SD650-N V2 bietet die neueste Leistung und Zuverlässigkeit in einer skalierbaren Lösung für Unternehmen und Forschung.

Spezifikationen

Formfaktor/Höhe 6 HE-Rack mit 6 Einschüben
Prozessor 2x 3rd Gen Intel® Xeon® Scalable Prozessoren pro Knoten
Speicher Bis zu 2,0 TB mit 16x 128GB 3200MHz TruDDR4 RDIMMs pro Rechner
Speicher 2x 2,5-Zoll-Slim SATA / NVMe U.2 SSD und 2x M.2 SATA SSD
SW RAID und Intel VROC nur für Intel-Laufwerke
NIC 1x SFP28 25Gb LOM, NCSI
1x RJ45 1GbE, NCSI
PCIe 2x x16 PCIe Gen4 LP pro Einschub
Leistungsaufnahme 6/9 N+1 redundante im Betrieb tauschbare Netzteile (bis zu 2400 W Platinum)
Kühlung Direkte Wasserkühlung mit bis zu 50°C Wasservorlauftemperatur
Management Lenovo XClarity Controller (XCC) und Lenovo Intelligent Computing Orchestration (LiCO)
Unterstützte Betriebssysteme Red Hat Enterprise Linux, SUSE Linux Enterprise Server
Getestet auf CentOS
Beschleunigung NVIDIA HGX™ A100 4-GPU mit 4x NVLink angeschlossenen SXM4-GPUs

Erfahren Sie mehr

Wenn Sie mehr über das Lenovo ThinkSystem SD650-N V2 erfahren möchten, wenden Sie sich an Ihren Lenovo-Vertriebspartner oder Business Partner oder besuchen Sie lenovo.com/thinksystem

BENÖTIGEN SIE SPEICHER?
Erfahren Sie mehr über Lenovo Storage
lenovo.com/systems/storage
BENÖTIGEN SIE SERVICES?
Erfahren Sie mehr über Dienstleistungen von Lenovo
lenovo.com/systems/services

Related product families

Product families related to this document are the following:

© 2021 Lenovo. Alle Rechte vorbehalten.
Verfügbarkeit: Bei Angeboten, Preisen, technischen Daten und Verfügbarkeit sind Änderungen vorbehalten. Lenovo übernimmt keinerlei Haftung für Fehler in Darstellungen oder Rechtschreibung. Gewährleistung: Die Garantiebedingungen finden Sie unter folgender URL: http://shop.lenovo.com/de/de/services-warranty.

Warenzeichen:Lenovo, das Lenovo Logo, From Exascale to Everyscale, Lenovo Neptune, ThinkSystem, TruDDR4 und XClarity® sind Marken oder eingetragene Marken von Lenovo. Intel® und Xeon® sind Marken der Intel Corporation oder ihrer Tochtergesellschaften. Linux® ist die Marke von Linus Torvalds in den USA und anderen Ländern. Dynamics ist ein Warenzeichen der Microsoft Corporation in den Vereinigten Staaten, anderen Ländern oder beidem. Andere Unternehmens-, Produkt- oder Dienstleistungsnamen können Marken oder Dienstleistungsmarken von Dritten sein.

Document number DS0124, published April 6, 2021. For the latest version, go to lenovopress.com/ds0124.

NVIDIA (Primary)

Lenovo ThinkSystem SD650-N V2 Datasheet

Published
9 Nov 2020
Form Number
DS0124
PDF size
3 pages, 387 KB

Exascale technology made available at every scale.

Lenovo Neptune™ accelerated

Lenovo ThinkSystem SD650-N V2 is based on our fourth generation Lenovo Neptune™ direct water cooling platform based on two 3rd Gen Intel® Xeon® Scalable processors with NVIDIA HGX A100 4-GPU acceleration and NVIDIA HDR InfiniBand networking.

The combination of market leading NVIDIA acceleration technology with the market leading water cooling solution from Lenovo results in extreme performance in an extreme dense packaging. A single rack of Lenovo ThinkSystem SD650-N V2 provides up to 2.8 PetaFLOPS High Performance Computing (HPC) or 45 PetaFLOPS Artificial Intelligence (AI) peak performance on just 0.72m² - less than 8 ft² - footprint.

Accelerating your applications

On the SD650-N V2 four NVIDIA A100 Tensor Core GPU are interconnected through NVLink delivering substantial performance improvements for HPC, AI training, and inference workloads. The A100 supports the Lenovo HPC philosophy to enable customers From Exascale to Everyscale™. Together with NVIDIA InfiniBand networking it scales efficiently to thousands of GPUs or, with NVIDIA Multi-Instance GPU (MIG) technology, can be partitioned into seven GPU instances to accelerate smaller workloads.

Top View of ThinkSystem SD650-N V2

With NVIDIA CUDA the most widely used parallel computing platform and programming model for GPUs is available free of charge to help you accelerate the more than 700 supported HPC applications and every major deep learning framework, for example:

  • Chemistry like Gaussian and GROMACS
  • Finite Elements like LS-DYNA and Simulia Abaqus
  • Fluid Dynamics like OpenFOAM and ANSYS Fluent
  • Molecular Dynamics like NAMD and AMBER
  • Weather and Climate like WRF and ICON

The Lenovo ThinkSystem SD650-N V2 also supports NVIDIA NGC providing pre-trained models, training scripts, optimized framework containers and inference engines for popular deep learning models.

Lenovo Neptune™: Leading water cooling technology

A decade of experience in direct water cooling sets Lenovo apart. With a meticulous focus on low-pressure drop and highest quality materials Lenovo achieves the best-in-class reliability. The SD650-N V2 leverages copper and brazed connections guaranteeing leak-free operations at extreme scale even at high pressure.

Another important differentiation is superior water loop design enabling up to 50°C inlet temperatures for the highest energy reuse efficiency. The new water loop design allows to optimize performance with increased frequency while ensuring temperature uniformity preventing Thermal Jitter for consistent application performance.

Water Cooling is an end to end process that already starts at manufacturing. Through Helium and Nitrogen pressure tests from the node to the full rack build the SD650-N V2 provides consistent quality at the highest standards. This approach also allows Lenovo to ship the systems pressurized without needing to send hazardous antifreeze-components to our customers.

Solutions That Scale

Lenovo ThinkSystem SD650-N V2 is delivered as fully integrated Lenovo Scalable Infrastructure (LeSI) solution. LeSI provides Best Recipe guides to warrant interoperability of hardware, software and firmware among a variety of Lenovo and third-party components. In addition to interoperability testing, LeSI hardware is pre-integrated, pre-cabled, pre-loaded with the best recipe and optionally an OS-image and tested at the rack level in manufacturing, to ensure a reliable delivery and minimize installation time in the customer data center.

Enabled with Lenovo intelligent Computing Orchestration (LiCO), you can support multiple users and scaling within a single cluster environment. LiCO is a powerful platform that manages cluster resources for HPC and AI applications. LiCO provides workflows for both AI and HPC, and supports multiple AI frameworks, allowing you to leverage a single cluster for diverse workload requirements.

Data Center Reliability Leader

At Lenovo, we take a customer-centric approach, which is why ThinkSystem servers consistently rank #1 in reliability. Also, Lenovo is the leading provider of Supercomputers in the TOP500. The ThinkSystem SD650-N V2 provides the latest in performance and reliability in a scalable solution for enterprise and research.

Specifications

Form Factor 6U rack-mount with 6 nodes
Processor 2x 3rd Gen Intel® Xeon® Scalable processors per node
Memory Up to 1.0TB using 16x 64GB 3200MHz TruDDR4 RDIMMs per node
Storage 2x 2.5-inch slim SATA / NVMe U.2 SSD and 2x M.2 SATA SSD
SW RAID and Intel VROC for Intel drives only
NIC 1x SFP28 25Gb LOM, NCSI
1x RJ45 1GbE, NCSI
PCIe 2x x16 PCIe Gen4 LP per node
Power 6/9 N+1 redundant hot-swap PSUs (up to 2400W Platinum)
Cooling Direct Water Cooling with up to 50°C inlet water temperature
Management Lenovo XClarity Controller (XCC) and Lenovo Intelligent Computing Orchestration (LiCO)
OS Support Red Hat Enterprise Linux, SUSE Linux Enterprise Server
Tested on CentOS
Acceleration NVIDIA HGX A100 4-GPU with 4x NVLink connected SXM4 GPUs

For More Information

To learn more about the Lenovo ThinkSystem SD650-N V2, contact your Lenovo representative or Business Partner or visit lenovo.com/thinksystem.

NEED STORAGE?
Learn more about Lenovo Storage
lenovo.com/systems/storage
NEED SERVICES?
Learn more about Lenovo Services
lenovo.com/systems/services

© 2020 Lenovo. All rights reserved.
Availability: Offers, prices, specifications and availability may change without notice. Lenovo is not responsible for photographic or typographic errors. Warranty: For a copy of applicable warranties, write to: Lenovo Warranty Information, 1009 Think Place, Morrisville, NC, 27560. Lenovo makes no representation or warranty regarding third-party products or services.

Trademarks: Lenovo, the Lenovo logo, From Exascale to Everyscale, Lenovo Neptune, ThinkSystem, TruDDR4, and XClarity® are trademarks or registered trademarks of Lenovo. Intel® and Xeon® are trademarks of Intel Corporation or its subsidiaries. Linux® is the trademark of Linus Torvalds in the U.S. and other countries. Dynamics is a trademark of Microsoft Corporation in the United States, other countries, or both. Other company, product, or service names may be trademarks or service marks of others.

Document number DS0124, published November 9, 2020. For the latest version, go to lenovopress.com/ds0124.