Lenovo Distributed Storage Solution für IBM Spectrum ScaleDatasheet

Updated
5 Nov 2019
Form Number
DS0026
PDF size
4 pages, 560 KB

Komplexe Lösungen ganz einfach

Komplexer Speicher einfach gemacht

Eine Implementierung von Lösungen für technische Berechnungen, High Performance Computing (HPC) sowie Analytics- und Cloud-Umgebungen kann für IT-Abteilungen mit erheblichem Aufwand verbunden sein. Mit der Lenovo Distributed Storage Solution für IBM® Spectrum Scale™ (DSS-G) können sich Kunden ganz auf die Optimierung der Nutzerzeit konzentrieren, anstatt wertvolle Ressourcen in Design, Optimierung, Installation und Support der Infrastruktur investieren zu müssen, um Nutzeranforderungen nachzukommen.

Lenovo DSS-G wird mithilfe der Lenovo Scalable Infrastructure (LeSI) realisiert und basiert auf jahrzehntelanger Erfahrung mit der Vereinfachung komplexer Kundenbereitstellungen. Auf Grundlage integrierter, bereitgestellter und umfassend unterstützter Lösungen, die branchenführende Komponenten mit einem optimierten Lösungsdesign verbinden, sorgt DSS-G für skalierbare Lösungen, die im Rechenzentrum hohen Performanceanforderungen an Speicher gerecht werden.

Leistungsstarke Kombination

Lenovo DSS-G kombiniert die hohe Performance von Lenovo ThinkSystem Servern und Lenovo Plattengehäusen mit branchenführender Spectrum Scale Software, sodass eine leistungsfähige, skalierbare Lösung mit modularem Aufbau entsteht, die modernen Speicheranforderungen gerecht wird. Lenovo DSS-G ermöglicht es, klein anzufangen und sich allmählich zu entwickeln und dabei sowohl Kapazität als auch Bandbreite aufzustocken. Für mehr Flexibilität beim bedarfsorientierten Ausbau des HPC-Speichers lassen sich nun ganz bequem online Bausteine innerhalb einer Lösung hinzufügen.

Optimiertes Design

Lenovo DSS-G bietet branchenführende ThinkSystem Server in Kombination mit leistungsstarken CPUs der Intel® Xeon® Scalable-Familie der zweiten Generation, Lenovo 12-Gbit/s-SAS-Speichergehäusen und -Laufwerken sowie Software und Netzwerkkomponenten, die eine breite Auswahl an Technologien in einer integrierten Lösung ermöglichen – und zwar in einem vorintegrierten Rack bzw. bereitgestellt in einem vorhandenen Kunden-Rack.

DSS-G Bild

 

Jede Lösung wird im Hinblick auf Zuverlässigkeit, Kompatibilität und maximale Leistung getestet und optimiert, damit Kunden ihr System im Handumdrehen bereitstellen und zur Erreichung ihrer Geschäftsziele nutzen können. Mit der hohen Speicherdichte und I/O-Leistung von DSS-G verfügen Sie über die komplette Zuverlässigkeit, Integration und Interoperabilität einer auf Spectrum Scale basierenden Speicherarchitektur mit maximaler Kapazität.

Verbesserte Ergebnisse

Immer mehr Kunden verwenden technische Rechen- sowie HPC-Lösungen zur Bewältigung komplexer Probleme. Diese Umgebungen setzen Speicher mit hoher Kapazität und geringer Latenz beim Datenzugriff sowie kurze Wiederherstellungszeiten voraus (sollte es zu einem Festplattenausfall kommen), um Datenintegrität und Systemverfügbarkeit zu wahren.

Als integraler Bestandteil des Lenovo Scalable Infrastructure (LeSI) Portfolios sorgt die Declustered RAID Funktion von Lenovo DSS-G für extrem hohe Performance, Zuverlässigkeit und Datenintegrität. Wiederherstellungen lassen sich bis zu 8-mal schneller erledigen als bei Controller-basiertem Speicher. DSS-G bietet ein modulares Prinzip mit Spectrum Scale und nahezu linearer Leistungs- und Kapazitätsskalierung. Gleichzeitig stellt ein globaler Namespace sicher, dass die Benutzer alles als einheitlichen Speichercluster sehen. So können die Benutzer das System schnell in Betrieb nehmen, bei steigenden Speicheranforderungen bequem erweitern und ihre gesamte Produktivität erhöhen.

End-to-End-Support

Lenovo DSS-G wird im Rahmen einer kompletten LeSI-Bereitstellung konzipiert und getestet und als Bestandteil einer solchen Implementierung ausgeliefert und unterstützt. Kunden erhalten einen zentralen Ansprechpartner auf Lösungsebene für alle Komponenten, um während der gesamten Lebensdauer des Systems eine maximale Systemverfügbarkeit zu erreichen. Das reduziert den Bereitstellungs- und Wartungsaufwand und lässt Ihnen mehr Zeit für ihre eigentliche Arbeit.

Merkmale von Lenovo DSS-G

  • Skalierbares Bausteinprinzip für Hochleistungsspeicher
  • Verschiedene Konfigurationen zur Optimierung von Kapazität und Performance
  • Leistungsstarke CPUs der Intel® Xeon® Scalable-Familie der zweiten Generation
  • Lenovo D3284 High Density Speichergehäuse mit 84 4-, 6-, 8-, 10-, 12- und 14-TB-NL-SAS-Festplatten (Formfaktor 3,5 Zoll)
  • Lenovo D1224 Speichergehäuse (Formfaktor 2,5 Zoll) mit 24 SSDs (400 GB bis 15,36 TB).
  • Auswahl zwischen 10-GbE-, 25-GbE-, 40-GbE-, 100-GbE-, FDR/EDR/HDR InfiniBand- und Omni Path 100-Verbindungen
  • Declustered RAID-Funktion für durchgängige, vorhersagbare Leistung und schnelle Wiederherstellungen
  • Keine Hardware-Controller – Plattenmanagement und RAID werden von der Spectrum Scale RAID-Funktion übernommen
  • Herausragende Kapazität und Leistung

DSS Produktüberblick

Distributed Storage Solution Konfigurationen für IBM Spectrum Scale

Die Distributed Storage Solution umfasst 20 Basiskonfigurationen, die alle mit Servern und Speicher konfiguriert sind.


Distributed Storage Solution – Beispiele für Modelle

DSS-G Modell Zahl der Server Zahl der Gehäuse
S-D1224
L-D3284
Anzahl Festplatten Maximale Rohkapazität Maximal verwendbare Kapazität (2Parity) Maximal verwendbare Kapazität (3Parity)
DSS G100 1 0 8 NVMe 51 TB Nicht zutreffend Nicht zutreffend
DSS G201 2 1 (S) 24 SSDs 368 TB 270 TB 245 TB
DSS G202 2 2 (S) 48 SSDs 737 TB 540 TB 491 TB
DSS G204 2 4 (S) 96 SSDs 1.474 TB 1.130 TB 1.027 TB
DSS G222 2 2+2 (L,S) 48 SSDs und 166 HDDs 1.992 TB (L) + 737 TB (S) 1.555 TB (L) + 540 TB (S) 1.414 TB (L) + 491 TB (S)
DSS G210 2 1 (L) 82 HDDs 984 TB 749 TB 681 TB
DSS G220 2 2 (L) 166 HDDs 1,992 PB 1,555 PB 1,414 PB
DSS G240 2 4 (L) 334 HDDs 4,008 PB 3,130 PB 2,845 PB
DSS G260 2 6 (L) 502 HDDs 5,350 PB 4,704 PB 4,276 PB

Über Lenovo

Lenovo (HKSE: 992) (ADR: LNVGY) ist ein Fortune 500-Unternehmen mit einem Umsatz von 45 Milliarden USD, das als weltweit führender Technologieanbieter die intelligente Transformation unterstützt. Rechenzentrumslösungen von Lenovo (ThinkSystem, ThinkAgile) stellen die Kapazität und Rechenleistung bereit, die Unternehmen und Gesellschaft heute benötigen.

Erfahren Sie mehr

Wenn Sie mehr über die Lenovo Distributed Storage Solution für IBM Spectrum Scale erfahren möchten, kontaktieren Sie Ihren Lenovo Vertriebsmitarbeiter oder Business Partner oder besuchen Sie: www.lenovo.com/highdensity. Genauere Spezifikationen finden Sie im DSS-G Produktleitfaden, lenovopress.com/lp0837.

BRAUCHEN SIE SERVER?
Erfahren Sie mehr über Server von Lenovo
lenovo.com/systems/servers
BENÖTIGEN SIE SERVICES?
Erfahren Sie mehr über Services von Lenovo
lenovo.com/systems/services

Related product families

Product families related to this document are the following:

© 2020 Lenovo. Alle Rechte vorbehalten.
Verfügbarkeit: Bei Angeboten, Preisen, technischen Daten und Verfügbarkeit sind Änderungen vorbehalten. Lenovo übernimmt keinerlei Haftung für Fehler in Darstellungen oder Rechtschreibung. Gewährleistung: Die Garantiebedingungen finden Sie unter folgender URL: http://shop.lenovo.com/de/de/services-warranty.

Warenzeichen: Lenovo, das Lenovo Logo, ThinkAgile und ThinkSystem sind Marken oder eingetragene Marken von Lenovo. Intel® und Xeon® sind Marken oder eingetragene Marken der Intel Corporation oder ihrer Tochterunternehmen in den USA und anderen Ländern. Andere Unternehmens-, Produkt- oder Dienstleistungsnamen können Marken oder Dienstleistungsmarken von Dritten sein.

Document number DS0026, published November 5, 2019. For the latest version, go to lenovopress.com/ds0026.

Intel Xeon Platinum Inside

Lenovo Distributed Storage Solution for IBM Spectrum ScaleDatasheet

Updated
5 Nov 2019
Form Number
DS0026
PDF size
4 pages, 448 KB

Take the complexity out of complex solutions

Complex Storage Made Simple

Deploying solutions for Technical Computing, High Performance Computing (HPC), Analytics and Cloud environments can place a significant burden on IT. With the Lenovo Distributed Storage Solution for IBM® Spectrum Scale™ (DSS-G) clients can focus their efforts on maximizing user time instead of consuming valuable resources to design, optimize, install and support the infrastructure required to meet user demands.

Lenovo DSS-G is fulfilled through Lenovo Scalable Infrastructure (LeSI), leveraging decades of experience simplifying complex deployments for customers. With integrated, delivered, and fully-supported solutions that match best-industry components with optimized solution design, DSS-G provides scalable solutions that address the high-performance storage needs in the data center.

Powerful Combination

Lenovo DSS-G combines the performance of Lenovo ThinkSystem servers and Lenovo disk enclosures with industry-leading Spectrum Scale software to deliver a high-performance, scalable building-block approach to modern storage needs. Lenovo DSS-G allows organizations to start small and build incrementally, scaling both capacity and bandwidth. Customers now have the ability to perform online expansion to add building blocks within a solution, supporting the flexibility to grow their HPC storage with their requirements.

Optimized Design

Lenovo DSS-G features industry-leading ThinkSystem servers with powerful second-generation Intel® Xeon® Processor Scalable family CPUs, Lenovo 12Gbps SAS storage enclosures and drives, software, and networking components that allow for a wide choice of technology within an integrated solution, available in a pre-integrated rack or deployed in an existing customer rack.

DSS-G image

 

Each solution is tested and optimized for reliability, interoperability and maximum performance, so clients can quickly deploy the system and get to work achieving their business goals. With DSS-G high-storage density and I/O performance, you gain all the reliability, integration and interoperability of a high-capacity Spectrum Scale-based storage architecture.

Increase Results

Clients are expanding the use of Technical Computing and HPC to solve complex problems. These environments need high-capacity storage with low-latency data access as well as quick rebuild times in the event of disk failure to maintain data integrity and system availability.

As an integral part of the Lenovo Scalable Infrastructure (LeSI) portfolio, the declustered RAID capability of Lenovo DSS-G provides extreme performance, reliability, and data integrity, with rebuild times up to 8x faster than controller-based storage. DSS-G offers a modular building-block approach to Spectrum Scale with nearly linear performance and capacity scaling, while maintaining a global namespace that enables users to view everything as a single storage cluster. These features allow users to quickly put the system to work, and easily grow with new storage demands, and increase their overall productivity.

End-to-end Support

Lenovo DSS-G is built, tested, delivered, and supported as part of an overall LeSI deployment. You receive single point-of-contact, solution-level support that includes components to deliver maximum system availability throughout the life of the system. This enables you to spend less time deploying and maintaining systems and more time delivering results.

Lenovo DSS-G Features

  • Scalable building block approach to high-performance storage
  • Multiple configurations to optimize for capacity and performance
  • Powerful second-generation Intel® Xeon® processor Scalable family CPUs
  • Lenovo D3284 high-density storage enclosures with 84x 4, 6, 8, 10, 12 and 14TB NL SAS drives (3.5" form factor)
  • Lenovo D1224 storage enclosures (2.5" form factor) with 24x SSDs (400GB - 15.36TB).
  • Choice of 10GbE/25GbE/40GbE/100GbE, FDR/EDR/HDR100 InfiniBand, Omni Path 100 interconnects
  • Declustered RAID for sustained, predictable performance and rapid rebuilds
  • No hardware controllers—disk management and RAID performed by the Spectrum Scale RAID feature
  • Outstanding capacity and performance

DSS Product Overview

Distributed Storage Solution Configurations for IBM Spectrum Scale

The Distributed Storage Solution provides 20 base configurations, all configured with servers and storage.


Distributed Storage Solution - Model Examples

DSS-G Model Number of Servers Number of Enclosures
S-D1224
L-D3284
Disk Quantity Maximum Raw Capacity Maximum Usable Capacity (2Parity) Maximum Usable Capacity (3Parity)
DSS G100 1 0 8 NVMe 51TB Not applicable Not applicable
DSS G201 2 1 (S) 24 SSDs 368TB 270TB 245TB
DSS G202 2 2 (S) 48 SSDs 737TB 540TB 491TB
DSS G204 2 4 (S) 96 SSDs 1,474TB 1,130TB 1,027TB
DSS G222 2 2+2 (L,S) 48 SSDs and 166 HDDs 1,992TB (L) + 737TB (S) 1,555TB (L) + 540TB (S) 1,414TB (L) + 491TB (S)
DSS G210 2 1 (L) 82 HDDs 984TB 749TB 681TB
DSS G220 2 2 (L) 166 HDDs 1.992PB 1.555PB 1.414PB
DSS G240 2 4 (L) 334 HDDs 4.008PB 3.130PB 2.845PB
DSS G260 2 6 (L) 502 HDDs 5.350PB 4.704PB 4.276PB

About Lenovo

Lenovo (HKSE: 992) (ADR: LNVGY) is a US$45 billion Fortune 500 company and a global technology leader in driving Intelligent Transformation. Lenovo’s data center solutions (ThinkSystem, ThinkAgile) are creating the capacity and computing power that are changing business and society.

For More Information

To learn more about the Lenovo Distributed Storage Solution for IBM Spectrum Scale, contact your Lenovo representative or Business Partner or visit: www.lenovo.com/highdensity. For detailed specifications, consult the DSS-G product guide, lenovopress.com/lp0837.

NEED SERVERS?
Learn more about Lenovo Servers
lenovo.com/systems/servers
NEED SERVICES?
Learn more about Lenovo Services
lenovo.com/systems/services

Related product families

Product families related to this document are the following:

© 2019 Lenovo. All rights reserved.
Availability: Offers, prices, specifications and availability may change without notice. Lenovo is not responsible for photographic or typographic errors. Warranty: For a copy of applicable warranties, write to: Lenovo Warranty Information, 1009 Think Place, Morrisville, NC, 27560. Lenovo makes no representation or warranty regarding third-party products or services.

Trademarks: Lenovo, the Lenovo logo, ThinkAgile, and ThinkSystem are trademarks or registered trademarks of Lenovo. Intel® and Xeon® are trademarks or registered trademarks of Intel Corporation or its subsidiaries in the United States and other countries. Other company, product, or service names may be trademarks or service marks of others.

Document number DS0026, published November 30, 2018. For the latest version, go to lenovopress.com/ds0026.

Intel Xeon Platinum Inside