ThinkSystem SR950Datasheet

Updated
2 Apr 2019
Form Number
DS0001
PDF size
4 pages, 676 KB

卓越的運算效能、可擴充性及復原能力

關鍵要素

Lenovo ThinkSystem SR950 專為要求最嚴苛、任務關鍵型工作負荷 (包含記憶體內資料庫、大型交易資料庫、CRM、ERP、批次及即時分析和大型虛擬化伺服器工作負荷) 而設計。

功能強大的 4U ThinkSystem SR950 可從兩個第二代 Intel® Xeon® 處理器 Scalable 系列 CPU 擴充為八個,而且能提供優於第一代產品高達 36% 的效能。* SR950 模組化設定可透過前端和後端存取所有主要子系統來加速升級和保養,而可讓資料持續流動。

重新定義可靠性

核心業務工作負荷要求系統提供持續可用性。在過去,為了獲得高度可用性,客戶通常必須利用所費不貲的周邊平台 (將之鎖定在不具彈性的生態系統) 而犧牲效能。

模組化 ThinkSystem SR950 專為在 x86 平台上提供「隨時可用」可靠性的基礎。ThinkSystem SR950 配備多個等級的復原彈性而可保護資料,專為確保持續作業而建造:

  • 故障預警分析會警告管理員即將發生的處理器、記憶體、PSU、系統風扇、介面卡插槽、HDD/SSD 及 VRM 失效,可讓保養廠商排定計劃中停機時間的時間,而不是針對突然發生的失效做出反應
  • 獨立供電的光鏡診斷 LED 指示燈會在失效的元件旁邊亮起,以供即時識別,而可進行快速保養和減少停機時間
  • 機器檢查架構 (MCA) 復原可針對無法矯正之資料錯誤提供作業系統層協助復原,而可防止系統重設
  • 自我調整性雙重裝置資料矯正可防止系統發生記憶體錯誤,同時可影響修復
  • 嚴重錯誤處理可覆寫應用程式關機,方法是設定嚴重錯誤的自訂處理常式

其中只有一些技術可針對任務關鍵型核心應用程式,提供卓越的系統可用性和持續應用程式效能。此外,Lenovo 伺服器持續成為業界領先最可靠ǂ,而且擁有業界最高客戶滿意度評等。§

無可比擬的效能

為了針對即時業務提供即時見解,ThinkSystem SR950 可透過整合 CPU、記憶體、儲存設備及 I/O 技術增強功能來提升應用程式效能,從而為最需要資料之工作負荷提供最快速的吞吐量。

  • 第二代 Intel® Xeon® 處理器 Scalable 系列 CPU;每個處理器高達 205W 和多達 28 個核心。
  • 多出 100% 的記憶體 - 與舊版相較之下,可降低 35% 的延遲而提升 40% 的速度*。¥
  • LAN Direct - 將整合式網路連接埠的數量加倍 (兩個標準型和兩個選用型),以提升效能,而不需要使用 PCIe 插槽。
  • 直接連接 NVMe 連接埠 - NVMe 儲存設備多達 12 個主機板連接可提供超快速讀取/寫入和降低成本,方法是盡量減少一些或所有 PCIe 交換器介面卡。SR950 提供比舊版 8-CPU 系統多出三倍的 NVMe 儲存容量**,而且可將儲存設備分層,以加速提供應用程式效能和提供最具成本效益的解決方案。

跨 CPU、記憶體、儲存設備及 I/O 提升效能之後,SR950 可延伸符合業界標準的技術,以建立新的效能臨界值。整合多達八個 Intel Xeon Platinum 處理器,SR950 在只有 4U 的機架空間中支援高達 24TB 的記憶體和 224 個處理核心。這使得其非常適合密集、極端可擴充、高度可用平台上的任務關鍵型應用程式、記憶體內資料庫或大型分析工作負荷。

獨特的模組化設計

縱向擴充系統的能力是知易行難的要求。SR950 獨特的模組化設計讓所有功能觸手可及,而重新定義了可擴充性。

SR950


上方和下方運算匣會從機箱前端滑出,以便輕鬆升級和保養

可輕鬆地從前端或後端存取所有主要子系統,而且可快速地新增或更換,而不需要移除機箱。將四插槽和八插槽配置容納到相同的機箱中,SR950 配備:

  • 上方及下方運算匣包含多達 4 個 CPU、48 個 DIMM 和 12 個 2.5 吋儲存槽 - 所有項目都位於 4U 機箱,而且機架空間只有舊版 8 CPU 系統的一半。上方和下方運算匣會從機箱前端滑出,以便輕鬆升級和保養。
  • 多達 19 個介面卡插槽 - 包含 11 個 PCIe x16 插槽 (將近是前代 x16 擴充的兩倍),因而使得系統成為 I/O 密集型工作負荷的理想選擇。
  • 創新中間機板互連,可提升系統冷並降低成本。

I/O 及儲存設備的彈性使得 SR950 成為業界最靈活機動的系統之一。SR950 為擁有要求最嚴苛之工作負荷提供終極的效能、可靠性、彈性及客戶滿意度。

工作負荷最佳化支援

Intel® Optane™ DC Persistent Memory 提供全新且彈性的記憶體階層,其針對資料中心工作負荷而特別設計,因此可提供大容量、可負擔性及持續性的前所未有組合。這項技術對於真實世界資料中心作業有顯著影響:可將重新啟動時間從數分鐘縮短為數秒鐘,1.2 倍的虛擬機器密度、利用 14 個較低延遲和 14 個較高 IOPS 來大幅提升資料複寫,以及針對內建至硬體持續資料提升安全性。*

ThinkSystem 伺服器部署、管理及安全性

Lenovo XClarity Controller 是所有 ThinkSystem 伺服器中內嵌的管理引擎,其設計旨在標準化、簡化和自動化基礎伺服器管理工作。

Lenovo XClarity Administrator 是可集中管理 ThinkSystem 伺服器、儲存設備及網路的虛擬化應用程式,而且與手動作業相較之下,可縮短高達 95% 的佈建時間。執行 XClarity Integrator 可協助您簡化 IT 管理、加速佈建和限縮成本,方法是透過完美無縫地將 XClarity 整合至現有 IT 環境。

ThinkShield 是全方位安全性方法,設計旨在從基礎架構的基礎到網路邊緣及保護安全性漏洞,進而保護資料中心。ThinkShield 會利用每個產品 (從開發到處置) 保護您的企業。

規格

外型尺寸/高度 機架/4U
處理器 (最大值) 多達 8 個第二代 Intel® Xeon® Platinum 處理器,每個處理器多達 28 個核心,高達 205W
記憶體 (最大值) 使用 256GB DIMM;2666MHz / 2933MHz TruDDR4,可利用 96 個插槽提供高達 24TB;支援 Intel® Optane™ DC Persistent Memory
擴充插槽 多達 14 個後端 PCIe、(11 個 x16 +、3 個 x8)、2 個共用的 ML2 及 PCIe x16) 及 1 個 LOM;加上 2 個前端專屬 RAID
內部儲存設備 (總數/熱抽換式) 多達 24 個 2.5 吋插槽,可支援 SAS/SATA HDD/SSD,包含 12 個 2.5 吋 NVMe SSD
網路介面 多達 2 個 (1/2/4 連接埠) 1GbE、10GbE、25GbE 或 InfiniBand ML2 個介面卡;加上 1 個 (2/4 連接埠) 1GbE 或 10GbE LOM 記憶卡
電源供應器 (標準值/最大值) 多達 4 個共用 1100W、1600W 或 2000W AC 80 PLUS Platinum
安全性及可用性功能 Lenovo ThinkShield,TPM 1.2/2.0;PFA;熱抽換式/備援磁碟機、風扇及 PSU;內部光徑診斷 LED;透過專屬 USB 連接埠進行前端存取診斷
熱抽換式/備援元件 電源供應器、風扇、SAS/SATA/NVMe 儲存設備
RAID 支援 選配的 HW RAID;M.2 開機支援及選配的 RAID
系統管理 XClarity Controller 內嵌管理、XClarity Administrator 集中化基礎架構交付、XClarity Integrator 外掛程式及 XClarity Energy Manager 集中化伺服器電源管理
支援的作業系統 Microsoft Windows Server、SUSE、Red Hat、VMware vSphere;請造訪 lenovopress.com/osig 以瞭解更多資料。
有限保固 1 年及 3 年客戶可自行替換之零件服務與現場服務;下個營業日維修服務 (每天 9 小時/每週 5 天),提供保固服務升級

關於 Lenovo

Lenovo (HKSE:992) (ADR:LNVGY) 是資本額達 450 億美元的財星 500 大企業,同時也是推動智慧轉型的全球技術領導廠商。Lenovo 的資料中心解決方案 (ThinkSystem、ThinkAgile) 會創造出可改變企業和社會的容量和運算威力。

如需詳細資訊

若要深入瞭解 Lenovo ThinkSystem SR950,請聯絡 Lenovo 業務代表或事業夥伴,或請造訪:lenovo.com/thinksystem。如需詳細規格,請參閱《SR950 產品指南》
 

需要儲存設備?
深入瞭解 Lenovo 儲存設備
lenovo.com/systems/storage
需要服務?
深入瞭解 Lenovo 服務
lenovo.com/systems/services

 

‡ 以 Intel 內部測試為依據,2018 年 8 月。†ITIC 2018 年全球可靠性報告。‡ TBR 2018 年 x86 型伺服器報告。  ¥ 根據 Intel 初步預測提升效能。 **與 Lenovo System x3950 相較之下。

Related product families

Product families related to this document are the following:

© 2019 Lenovo.版權所有。
可用性:優惠、價格、規格和供應情況如有更改,恕不另行通知。Lenovo 不負責圖片或印刷上的錯誤。保固:若要獲得適用的保固文件副本,請洽:Lenovo Warranty Information, 1009 Think Place, Morrisville, NC, 27560。Lenovo 對協力廠商的產品或服務不做任何聲明或擔保。

商標: Lenovo、Lenovo 標誌、Lenovo XClarity、ThinkAgile、ThinkSystem 與 TruDDR4 是 Lenovo 的商標或註冊商標。 Intel、Optane™ 及 Xeon 是 Intel Corporation 或其附屬公司在美國和/或其他國家/地區的商標或註冊商標。 Microsoft®、Windows Server® 和 Windows® 是 Microsoft Corporation 在美國和/或其他國家/地區的商標。 其他公司、產品或者服務名稱可能為其他公司的商標或服務標誌。

文件編號 DS0001,發行 January 25, 2018。如需最新版本,請移至 lenovopress.com/ds0001

ThinkSystem Intel Xeon Platinum Inside

ThinkSystem SR950Datasheet

Updated
2 Apr 2019
Form Number
DS0001
PDF size
4 pages, 591 KB

Outstanding compute performance, manageability and resiliency

The Critical Nucleus

Lenovo ThinkSystem SR950 is designed for your most demanding, mission-critical workloads, such as in-memory databases, large transactional databases, batch and real-time analytics, ERP, CRM, and virtualized server workloads.

The powerful 4U ThinkSystem SR950 can grow from two to eight second-generation Intel® Xeon® Processor Scalable family CPUs, delivering up to 36% total performance improvement over the first generation processor.* The modular design of SR950 speeds upgrades and servicing with easy front and rear access to all major subsystems, to keep your data flowing.

Reliability Redefined

Core business workloads require systems that can provide continuous availability. In the past, to get high availability, customers often had to sacrifice performance with expensive proprietary platforms that locked them into inflexible ecosystems.

The modular ThinkSystem SR950 is designed from the ground up to deliver “always-on” reliability on an x86 platform. Featuring multiple levels of resiliency to protect data, the ThinkSystem SR950 is built to ensure continuous operation:

  • Predictive Failure Analysis alerts administrators to impending failure of processors, memory, PSUs, system fans, adapter slots, HDDs/SSDs, and VRMs, allowing servicers to schedule planned downtime, rather than reacting to sudden failure
  • Independently-powered light path diagnostic LEDs light up beside the failing component for instant identification, enabling fast servicing and reduced downtime
  • Machine Check Architecture (MCA) Recovery provides OS-layer assisted recovery from uncorrectable data errors, to prevent system reset
  • Adaptive Double Device Data Correction protects the system from memory errors while effecting a repair
  • Fatal Error Handling enables override of application shutdown by setting a custom handler of fatal errors

These are only a few of the many technologies that deliver the exceptional system availability and continuous application performance needed for mission-critical core applications. In addition, Lenovo servers continue to be the industry’s #1 most reliable,ǂ with the industry’s highest customer satisfaction rating.§

Unparalleled Performance

To deliver real-time insights for real-time businesses, ThinkSystem SR950 boosts application performance with a combination of CPU, memory, storage, and I/O technology enhancements, to provide the fastest throughput for your most data-hungry workloads:

  • Second-generation Intel® Xeon® Processor Scalable family CPUs; up to 205W and 28 cores per processor.
  • 100% more memory—40% faster with 35% lower latency than the prior generation.¥
  • LAN Direct—Double the number of integrated networking ports, two standard with two optional, to increase performance, without using PCIe slots.
  • Direct-connect NVMe ports—Up to 12 motherboard connections for NVMe storage provide ultra-fast read/writes and reduce costs by eliminating some or all PCIe switch adapters. SR950 offers three times the NVMe storage capacity of the prior-generation 8-CPU system,** and storage can be tiered for faster application performance, to provide the most cost-effective solution.

With increased performance across CPU, memory, storage, and I/O, SR950 expands on industry-standard technology to establish new thresholds of performance. Incorporating up to eight Intel Xeon Platinum processors, SR950 supports up to 24TB of memory and 224 processing cores in only 4U of rack space. This makes it ideal for mission-critical applications, in-memory databases, or large analytics workloads on a dense, extremely scalable, high-availability platform.

Unique Modular Design

The ability to scale up your systems is a requirement that has been more easily said than done. The unique modular design of SR950 redefines scalability by putting everything within reach.

SR950


Upper and lower compute trays slide out the front of the chassis for easy upgrades and serviceability

All major subsystems are easily accessed from either the front or rear and can be quickly added or replaced without removing the chassis. Housing both 4- and 8-socket configurations in the same chassis, SR950 features:

  • Upper and lower compute trays that hold up to 4 CPUs, 48 DIMMs and 12 2.5" storage bays apiece—all in a 4U chassis, which is half the rack space of the previous-generation eight CPU system. The compute trays slide out of the front of the chassis for easy upgrades and serviceability.
  • Up to 19 adapter slots—including 11 PCIe x16 slots, for nearly twice the x16 expansion of the previous generation, making the system ideal for I/O-intensive workloads.
  • An innovative midplane interconnect that improves system cooling and reduces costs.

This flexibility of I/O and storage makes the SR950 one of the most versatile systems in the industry. SR950 provides the ultimate in performance, reliability, flexibility, and customer satisfaction§ for customers with the most demanding workloads.

Workload-Optimized Support

Intel® Optane™ DC Persistent Memory delivers a new, flexible tier of memory designed specifically for data center workloads that offers an unprecedented combination of high-capacity, affordability and persistence. This technology will have a significant impact on real-world data center operations: reduction of restart times from minutes down to seconds, 1.2x virtual machine density, dramatically improved data replication with 14x lower latency and 14x higher IOPS, and greater security for persistent data built into hardware.*

ThinkSystem Server Deployment, Management and Security

Lenovo XClarity Controller is the embedded management engine in all ThinkSystem servers that is designed to standardize, simplify, and automate foundation server management tasks.

Lenovo XClarity Administrator is a virtualized application that centrally manages ThinkSystem servers, storage, and networking, which can reduce provisioning time up to 95% versus manual operation. Running XClarity Integrator helps you streamline IT management, speed provisioning, and contain costs by seamlessly integrating XClarity into an existing IT environment.

ThinkShield is a comprehensive approach to security designed to secure the data center, from the foundation of your infrastructure to the network's edge and guard against a security breach. ThinkShield protects your business with each offering, from development through disposal.

Specifications

Form Factor/Height Rack/4U
Processor (Max) Up to 8 second-generation Intel® Xeon® Platinum processors, up to 28x cores per processor, up to 205W
Memory (Max) Up to 24TB in 96 slots, using 256GB DIMMs; 2666MHz / 2933MHz TruDDR4, supports Intel® Optane™ DC Persistent Memory
Expansion Slots Up to 14x rear PCIe, (11x x16 +, 3x x8), 2x shared ML2 and PCIe x16) and 1x LOM; plus 2x front dedicated-RAID
Internal Storage (Total/Hot-swap) Up to 24x 2.5" bays supporting SAS/SATA HDDs/SSDs, including 12x 2.5" NVMe SSDs
Network Interface Up to 2x (1-/2-/4-port) 1GbE, 10GbE, 25GbE, or InfiniBand ML2 adapters; plus 1x (2/4-port) 1GbE or 10GbE LOM card
Power Supply (Std/Max) Up to 4x shared 1100W, 1600W or 2000W AC 80 PLUS Platinum
Security and Availability Features Lenovo ThinkShield, TPM 1.2/2.0; PFA; Hot-swap/redundant drives, fans, and PSUs; internal light path diagnostic LEDs; front-access diagnostics via dedicated USB port
Hot-Swap/Redundant Components Power supplies, fans, SAS/SATA/NVMe storage
RAID Support Optional HW RAID; M.2 boot support with optional RAID
Systems Management XClarity Controller embedded management, XClarity Administrator centralized infrastructure delivery, XClarity Integrator plugins, and XClarity Energy Manager centralized server power management
OSes Supported Microsoft Windows Server, SUSE, Red Hat, VMware vSphere; Visit lenovopress.com/osig for details.
Limited Warranty 1-year and 3-year customer replaceable unit and onsite service, next business day 9x5; optional service upgrades

About Lenovo

Lenovo (HKSE: 992) (ADR: LNVGY) is a US$45 billion Fortune 500 company and a global technology leader in driving Intelligent Transformation. Lenovo’s data center solutions (ThinkSystem, ThinkAgile) are creating the capacity and computing power that are changing business and society.

For More Information

To learn more about the Lenovo ThinkSystem SR950, contact your Lenovo representative or Business Partner or visit: lenovo.com/thinksystem. For detailed specifications, consult the SR950 Product Guide.
 

NEED STORAGE?
Learn more about Lenovo Storage
lenovo.com/systems/storage
NEED SERVICES?
Learn more about Lenovo Services
lenovo.com/systems/services

 

* Based on Intel Internal testing, August 2018.  † ITIC 2018 Global Reliability Report. ‡ TBR x86-based Servers Report 2018.  ¥ Performance improvement based on Intel projections.  ** Compared to Lenovo System x3950.

Related product families

Product families related to this document are the following:

© 2019 Lenovo. All rights reserved.
Availability: Offers, prices, specifications and availability may change without notice. Lenovo is not responsible for photographic or typographic errors. Warranty: For a copy of applicable warranties, write to: Lenovo Warranty Information, 1009 Think Place, Morrisville, NC, 27560. Lenovo makes no representation or warranty regarding third-party products or services.

Trademarks: Lenovo, the Lenovo logo, Lenovo XClarity, ThinkAgile, ThinkSystem, and TruDDR4 are trademarks or registered trademarks of Lenovo. Intel®, Optane™, and Xeon® are trademarks or registered trademarks of Intel Corporation or its subsidiaries in the United States and other countries. Microsoft®, Windows Server®, and Windows® are trademarks of Microsoft Corporation in the United States, other countries, or both. Other company, product, or service names may be trademarks or service marks of others.

Document number DS0001, published January 25, 2018. For the latest version, go to lenovopress.com/ds0001.

ThinkSystem Intel Xeon Platinum Inside